+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Resurfacing, Flying and FAA Medical Exams  (Read 3223 times)

uberalan

• We can rebuild him, make him better than before.
Resurfacing, Flying and FAA Medical Exams
« on: March 30, 2009, 11:56:26 AM »
Are there any surface hippies out there who are pilots?  How long after your surgery was it before you were back in the cockpit as pilot-in-command?  Did you have any "issues" with your first flight physical after surgery?
Alan/Denver, CO
Dr. Gross, Biomet Magnum/Recap, Uncemented
RHR (3/16/2009) & LHR (3/19/2009)

toroqu

Re: Resurfacing, Flying and FAA Medical Exams
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 03:34:38 PM »
I am a commerical pilot and will be required to provide the following at my next FAA first class physical:

Surgical report

Written approval from surgeon stating that I can return to work and " May resume normal activities without restriction" (exact words necessary).

I am not sure of requirements if you are a private pilot. Call your examiner if you have questions.

uberalan

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 08:11:22 PM »
Thanks Toroqu.
Alan/Denver, CO

hipster

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 03:15:11 AM »
Let's keep in touch. I will be done rt side, Dr. Mont on 4/9/09. I am a pilot and opted for the anterior lat approach with Dr. Mont due to the incision and trauma not being on the "sitting areas"...LOL. I'm not PIC, but have to uphold a First class due to being type rated and IRO eligible at CAL.

Hipster
RHR Wright C+/Dr. Mont/4-9-09

toroqu

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2009, 12:40:13 PM »