+-

Author Topic: Last Post-Recovery Goal (was: Hip Soreness From Bicycle Riding)  (Read 3555 times)

DirkV

Background: I am a bilateral, 1 yr and a few days post-op. I was fortunate to have a very good and extensive phys therapy program from months 4-8 or so. I think my problem is that I'm not very good at continuing w/ the therapy things.

With that brief history, twice in the past month I have had pretty significant pain around my hip after pushing hard on bike rides. The 2 incidents have been similar and on either side - the first time just left hip affected, the second time, just the right. It's a situation where I feel a twinge of pain (seemingly on the outside of hip, near incision) while riding, briefly consider stopping, but when I let up the endorphins and easing make it ok, so I keep going. Yesterday, when I got off the bike, the pain in the hip was significant for a couple hours. No sharp pain anywhere, but a heavy dull pain. I couldn't lay in any position without pain. I was in bed for a couple hours; I could walk, but barely. Then it gradually went away. And I wasn't too concerned because when I had the less severe incident on the other side, the pain was similar, but after an hour of rest, I was able to do a lot of yardwork and projects around the house and the pain entirely went away. It was hard to diagnose an exact location for the pain - glutes, side of hip, and the front, it was all tender. One possible smoking gun: as pain was subsiding, it seemed the front area was the worst (in front, high on hip, near and above genital area - I think flexors or stabilizers are there).