+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Dr. that comes highly recommended but has not done 100 BHR  (Read 6682 times)

kmminer4

Dr. that comes highly recommended but has not done 100 BHR
« on: July 27, 2009, 08:18:04 PM »
Hi Have any of you used a doctor that has not had 100 or more BHR and had success with the results? My Doctor comes highly recommended(but has done less than 100 BHR) and has never had a patient that needed a revision but I'm a little nervous on whether he is experienced enough for the BHR.Everything that I have read,people say to use a doctor that has at least 100 BHR's.I'm trying to be open minded because I was new out of college and was highly recommended for my job over people who had more experience and I worked in a hospital in the Labs.I'm trying to have the same way of thinking and give the guy a chance if he has had success with his former patients .Please let me know if any of you have had doctors who were not quite as experienced as recommended.I have surgery in 2 weeks.
Kelly

obxpelican

Re: Dr. that comes highly recommended but has not done 100 BHR
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 09:31:01 PM »
Kelly,

Many people have had good experiences with doctors with < 100 HRs.  The problem is that you're rolling the dice on this one, someone who lacks experience will have more problems than someone who is experienced. 

I wish I had a dollar for every patient I've seen who has posted their regrets at using an inexperienced surgeon.

You must realize that hip resurfacings are not like a total hip surgery, more things can go wrong, especially when you are dealing with a doctor who is not experienced.

This is JMHO, but it comes from hearing too many people regretting their decision to use a doctor new at hip resurfacings.

Good luck which ever road you choose.

Chuck