+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hip Resurfacing Devices  (Read 4041 times)

malc

Hip Resurfacing Devices
« on: August 09, 2009, 09:12:01 AM »
Hi everyone
I'm new to SH...had my op 3 weeks ago, still feeling some muscular pain & stiffness...but just got back from a mile-long walk with the dog...pain free! Anyway, does anyone have any info on a device made by Stryker, designed for a 'mid-head resection', which is what I had. It looks just like a conventional resurfacing implant, but the stem's a little longer. My surgeon opted for this method, as he was concerned that a shorter stemmed device would fail (a considerable amount of bone had worn away). Just curious really...wondering if anyone has any advice,stories, tips etc.
Thanks
Malc :) (in the UK)
Actually, I want to add that I'm fairly certain I had the MITCH PER mini hip procedure, and that I have managed to find a website about one of the consultants who helped devise the product. However, I'd love to hear from others who've had the same op. It seems like a fairly 'young' procedure in terms of how often it's been done? Any comments would be most welcome!
Best wishes.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2009, 04:52:38 AM by malc »

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Hip Resurfacing Devices
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2009, 03:13:17 PM »
Hi Malc

Welcome to Hip Talk.  Glad to hear you are doing well.  Being in the US, it is more difficult trying to find out about hip devices not available in the US.  I only know of 3 other kinds of mid head type device which is a longer stem version of a normal hip resurfacing:

1. The BMHR  http://www.surfacehippy.info/bmhr.php designed by Mr. McMinn manufactured by Smith & Nephew and not approved or available in the US. 

2. The Proxima which I think is manufactured by DePuy also overseas  http://www.hipsforyou.com/proximahip.php and not FDA approved or available in the US.