+-

Author Topic: Emotions Food Fat and Hip Pain  (Read 7988 times)

ladler

Emotions Food Fat and Hip Pain
« on: August 16, 2009, 02:58:40 AM »
I am female, 44 years old and three days away (and counting) from my left hip resurfacing.  It has been long and painful 9 months leading up to this (including a broken and pinned collarbone from a bike accident 3 months ago) and before that- many years of sporadic hip pain that indicated to me this day would one day come.

I was a very serious student of ballet for two decades and I attribute that abuse to my body with much of my hip problems- OA, torn labrum, floating chondral and non chondral bodies lodged between the bones, etc.  Up until 9 months ago I practiced 1 to 2 hours of yoga daily and loved to hike, figure skate and snow shoe.  I was in decent shape but never thin enough for my liking which brings me to my post:

I also bring eating disorders to the table (hah) in this equation.  In the last 10 years I have stopped starving myself to be thin and have become a 'normal' curvy woman who still over eats when feeling emotional--- and who still struggles to love her body even tho it does not look the way she wants it to look.  I was doing ok when my hip pain became so unbearable that I knew i needed the surgery- in fact, I had recently lost weight from healthy exercise and diet.  I had to wait 5 months for a surgery date- and so was riding my bike, the only exercise I could do anymore- fell- broke my left clavicle- had to have it pinned- and so me and movement/exercise pretty much parted ways with three and half months til surgery still to go.