+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Back to work after 4 weeks and have questions  (Read 5432 times)

keithp

Back to work after 4 weeks and have questions
« on: August 24, 2009, 09:26:57 PM »
Hello
I had my surgery 3 weeks ago. Have been walking unassisted after about 10 days post op. I feel really good but am very conscious not to push myself. I walk a great deal during the day and am close to a normal gait.
I called my Dr's office and informed them that I have committed to return to work next week. The Dr's assistant who has been very helpful and knowledgeable says that the blanket statement is 3 months until back to work.
She is aware that I work in the computer industry and sit behind a desk all day. She was very adamant that unless the Dr cleared me I should not go back to work. Unfortunately it is very difficult to get back in to see or even speak to the Dr here in Canada but I really feel up to it.

The assistant said that there is a concern for injury. I pushed her a little on it and asked what type of injury. She said that I could strain a tendon or muscle which would severely inhibit my recovery.

Considering I have been either sitting or walking at home all day should I really be that concerned about returning to a desk job?

My main concern is not breaching the 90 degree angle which is what I will do everything to prevent.

Any advice on the matter would be much appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Back to work after 4 weeks and have questions
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 09:39:03 PM »
Hi

I am sorry to hear you can't talk to your doctor.  It is such a shame to have such a medical system.