+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Trigger Points and Muscle Pain  (Read 2283 times)

Carrie

• Nov 2009 Dr. Gross Biomet cement-less rt
    • Us dancing prior
Trigger Points and Muscle Pain
« on: December 06, 2009, 08:08:26 AM »
Does anyone know anything about trigger points?

I've been a massage therapist for 15 years. Trigger point therapy is one of my specialties. So much pain is cause by trigger points. If you just knew a little bit about what they are, how to identify them and how to treat them (self treatment or by a professional), you could relieve yourself of much pain and restricted range of motion in a very short time.

Simply speaking, trigger points are muscle 'knots.' They can cause pain with severity comparable to passing a kidney stone or having a heart attack, or they could be the culprit behind the stiffness you've had for years.

Trigger points refer pain. The pain referral may be local or very distant, so sometimes it is a detective game to find which trigger point is causing the pain. There are many books and websites that illustrate trigger point location and referral patterns. Here is a good one:
http://www.triggerpoints.net/

Trigger points can be treated in several ways - injections, laser, muscle relaxers, but a popular and readily available way to treat trigger points is simply with direct pressure and stretching.

What causes trigger points? Trauma; Chronic postures; even thought patterns that reflect in muscular tension can over time set up trigger points.

So, let's talk trigger points, y'all! Woot!

Carrie

11/09  Dr. Gross Biomet cement-less rt.

Lopsided

Re: Trigger Points and Muscle Pain
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2009, 09:11:30 AM »
Carrie,

Where my cartilage is worn away and my bone is rubbing against bone spurs, I cannot see how 'trigger points' are pertinent.

Thank you, Dan

Proud To Be Dr. De Smet's First Uncemented Conserve Plus, Left, August 2010

Carrie

• Us dancing prior
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2009, 10:28:40 AM »