+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Any Drummers out there...?  (Read 3902 times)

Foosball

Any Drummers out there...?
« on: February 22, 2010, 12:23:23 AM »
I had my surgery 4 months ago.  I'm starting to play drums again.  The problem is that when I play the bass drum with my right leg (the surgical side), I actually lift my leg up and slam it down on the bass drum pedal.  I don't play with my ankle.  I'm a power drummer.

I believe that's how I got arthritis in the first place.  Many years of slamming the pedal down with the shock/vibrations coming up threw my leg to my hip.  I don't have arthritis any where else.  It doesn't run in my family and the very first time it started hurting was when I was drumming.

I'm wondering if I could somehow loosen the bhr by playing again.  At my 3 month check up, my doctor told me I could play.  It's about time to get back on the horse but I don't want to screw anything up.

I suppose it's not that much different than running.  Except I'm sitting...hmm, I can't think of anything that is comparable to what I'm going to be doing.

RBHR - Oct 21st, 2009 - Dr. Salypongse

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Any Drummers out there...?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 07:37:44 AM »
Hey Foosball