+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 3 weeks  (Read 2209 times)

atbower

3 weeks
« on: April 08, 2010, 02:29:21 PM »
Just wanted to take a virginal jump into the hippy chat pool as my surgery date is getting thrillingly close!  46yr old scheduled 4/28 with Dr. Brooks in Cleveland.  I will be traveling roughly 5 hours from SoCen PA.  I am a nurse and cracking myself up that I have not met him but feel completely ready to GO!  I feel like this is the right surgery for me and need to thank a patient I did a stress test on, who first mentioned this surgery as a possiblity and referred me to this website.  And boy am I ready--this was quite a journey to get to this final month.  At this point I am walking around with a butter knife offering it to anybody who is willing to cut me and fix it!  Well, close to that anyway. 
The only concern I have would be setbacks or complications considering the distance I will be from Cleveland.  I am hoping to go home to PA the day after I am discharged.  I guess, like everyone, praying that the surgery and recovery go smoothly. 
Thanks for all the good information and discussion. 

obxpelican

Re: 3 weeks
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2010, 06:46:58 PM »
Many people make treks for their surgery, I went from Pgh to Columbia, SC.... almost 9 hours, I drove home around 4 hours back when I was day 3 post-op.

Don't worry about the trip, take a break every 1 1/2 to 2 hours to get out and stretch, make sure they teach you foot pumps so you don't end up with a blood clot.

You'll do fine, thousands of us have done it and many of them have traveled.

Chuck
Chuck
RH/Biomet U/C Dr. Gross/Lee Webb
8-6-08

Tarhoo2

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 07:46:27 PM »