+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hello all  (Read 4369 times)

JGardner

Hello all
« on: September 28, 2010, 01:49:20 PM »
Hello.  I'm scheduled for surgery 14 Oct on my right hip and figured I'd introduce myself. I've been cycling and racing for about 40 years now and hope I got at least another 20 in me.  I'll keep fellow cyclists updated on my progress and rehab so as to share the wealth of info provided by this site.  (Thanks Pat!)  My intended goal is to be able to resume racing in April 2011 and attend the Masters Road Nationals in August 2011.

Luann

Re: Hello all
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2010, 06:30:21 PM »
Good Luck! I have now doubt you'll reach your goals. Many of us who enjoy sports and rowdy activities are doing very well with HR! I am an equestrian (some extreme-ish riding!) and at 4 months, I am almost at 100% of my previous riding ability, only better and without pain!!
 Read about all the preparation you should be doing before surgery on this great site and get excited about returning to your beloved sport!  Lu
F age 45 right hip C+ Dr.Sparling 6/02/10

JGardner

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2010, 03:50:33 PM »
Well this is it.  Surgery scheduled for Thursday at 1030.  Putting the final touches on getting the house ready for my return.

toby

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 05:00:31 PM »
JC,
As a reasonably athletic guy, after years of major problems and rapid deterioration in the few months prior to my HR, I went in for my op without any fear or anxiety. I knew it was my time to concentrate on ME and nurturing a newly aligned hip. Maybe I was pretty lucky bit I genuinely found the whole HR experience straight forward and rewarding.  Just go and enjoy-cos it really is a new beginning.
Best Wishes from a UK hip buddy.
Toby
LHR Adept-Prof Cobb-30-1-10

Luann

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2010, 04:53:25 PM »
JGardner,