+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: I Think I Have Changed My Mind  (Read 2260 times)

emichel

I Think I Have Changed My Mind
« on: October 31, 2010, 08:47:45 PM »
Hi all -- In spite of my previous post about deciding on THR instead of resurfacing, now I am thinking otherwise.  It is true I am in a higher risk group, being a female with an estimated quite small component size.  Even with the best surgeons, it is just factual that this means there is a higher risk of complications.  What had made me lean towards THR is my passion for karate, and desire to test for my black belt a year from March.  We only have one chance a year to do this, and I have been training hard for nearly 5 years already (in addition to past training).  Since I need to have both hips done, my thinking was that if I went with replacement it would be much more of a sure thing, and Dr. Pritchett made it sound like with a large ball MOM replacement I would be able to do most of what I want to do with karate.  Both hips are limiting, so I just wanted to do both in quick succession, (he won't do them simultaneously), then get on with my training and my life.  I felt that with resurfacing, if I had one, then the other, then one of them went wrong within a year or so, right before the black belt test, I would be just devastated.  Two surgeries within a short time is challenging enough, but I did not feel that I could handle three.  Now I am thinking... I should do resurfacing on one side and wait a while, see how it goes, and if it ends up being successful after a while, do the second side later.  I am thinking I might be able to get through the black belt test in March 2012 (which is actually for a provisional black belt, I will still need to test for another one no sooner than a year after that), even with the other hip being kind of messed up, then doing that one, then test for my full black belt.  At least that is my latest thinking.  It sure is a challenge figuring this all out, and I sure wish I