+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: How much time do I need to take off work? (desk job)  (Read 4793 times)

23109VC

How much time do I need to take off work? (desk job)
« on: December 09, 2010, 10:52:07 PM »
I'm going to have my left hip resurfaced in late Feb of 2011.

I haven't told my employer yet...but will soon.  I don't know how much time Ineed to take offf of work.  I know that WHAT you do will make a big immpact on the answer to that question.  I'm not in a job that requires physical labor... I'm a lawyer. I work at a desk a lot.. I do go to ccout so I'm not sitting "all" day..but I don't have to walk that far and can sit most of the tiem I woudl be in court... my job is pretty low stress in terms of physical activity.. so I would asssume I can get back to work faster than others who have jobs that require more physical activity.. but even though my job is "paper pushing"...  how long shoudl I give myself to be on the safe side before I go back?

Dr. Gross' info / staff  said that some patients in my type of work go back in as little as two weeks..seemed kind of fast to me..but maybe that is normal??  i understand that at two weeks I'd be on a walker or cane...which I could do... i'm jus wondering if most people go basck that fast or if they take off more like a month?

I have vacation/sick time so I can take2 weeks, 4 weeks, longer if I have to... but I don't wantto tell them 2 weeks when in reality I'm gone a month...

thanks!
Sean
Dr. Gross- Left Hip - 2/23/11, Right Hip 7/19/23

Dayton96

Re: How much time do I need to take off work? (desk job)
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2010, 05:52:59 AM »