+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Ramblings regarding my scheduled 2/16 resurfacing with Dr Gross  (Read 24731 times)

einreb

Ramblings regarding my scheduled 2/16 resurfacing with Dr Gross
« on: February 02, 2011, 02:39:04 PM »
I just thought that I'd post info about my upcoming scheduled resurfacing.  I've been helped a lot reading others experiences, so I thought that I would add to that with my own experience of surgery and recovery.

I'm 40 now.  I had Leggs Perthes as a kid and my hip is pretty much toast.... bone on bone, decent sized cyst, etc.  I'm an 'engineer' by trade and so I've completely over-analyzed the options.  I had actually scheduled for 8/16/2010 and backed out thinking I could put it off a bit longer.

I'm scared, nervous, and excited.  I have purchased slip on shoes and.... running shoes!  I ran a marathon in 2002, it was my last run over 2 miles.  I bike a good bit now, but even that is something that I pay for afterwards.  I doubt that I'll do marathon length again since I never really enjoyed it anyway, but I look forward to being able to go for a quick run or hike with my kids.

The mental aspect of this has been tougher than the physical pain for me.  I've had to come to terms that there is no 'perfect' solution, no perfect time, etc.  I have researched it and am now able to put myself into the hands of those that I feel can best take care of the problem.  Its a good opportunity to spend some 'mindful' time.

-Bernie
« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 03:21:50 PM by einreb »
40yo at the time of my 2/16/2011 left hip uncemented Biomet resurface with Tri Spike Acetabular cup by Gross

obxpelican

Re: Ramblings regarding my scheduled 2/16 resurfacing with Dr Gross
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 02:48:31 PM »