+-

Author Topic: Hip Resurfacing and Age  (Read 1426 times)

hipnhop

Hip Resurfacing and Age
« on: March 31, 2011, 06:28:07 PM »
Has there been any discussion into the appropriateness of post surgery plans and younger patients? Not to sound like an ageist but I think our recovery plans are too similar to that of older patients (say 65+).  None of my health care professionals seem sympathetic to the need of a younger patient: need to be more active, inability to take time off for work, our willingness to push, psychological issues of impairment and impending knowledge that we will have to go through this again (THR).

I told my surgeon I had to go on a business trip in the fifth week post op and she got mad at me. I understand her point but I am a mid career professional. She wanted me to be on three month travel restriction. That's impossible. I would go broke. An older patient my be retired (or accumulated a lot of sick and vacation time) and not face issues taking as much time off.

I know it is all about out health but I want to push thought. What do you think? What does research say?
3/2011 and 2/2012 HR Dr. Craig Thomas

obxpelican

Re: Hip Resurfacing and Age
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 09:14:07 PM »
You may or may not be in the mood to travel a lot 5 weeks post-op  YMMV though.

Remember this is about making you better and your health does come first, you cannot work if you do not have your health.

Now who knows, you might be fine and ready to go 4 weeks post-op.

Chuck
Chuck
RH/Biomet U/C Dr. Gross/Lee Webb
8-6-08

John C

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 11:11:51 PM »