+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 5 days out  (Read 3805 times)

Denver_wrench

5 days out
« on: June 03, 2011, 08:07:59 PM »
I've been following this site for a while, but haven't posted. I get my new hip on June 9th. On one hand, it can't come soon enough. On the other, I'm anxious, maybe more so since I quit smoking cigarettes last month (just need to get off the nictonine gum). I think I've gotten pretty good instructions on what supplies to get (bath bench, toilet seat, reacher, shoehorn & sock puller). I'd like to get something to elevate my car seat, and if anyone has any other advice it would be most welcome. I've never had surgery before so not quite sure what to expect. At 50 years old I feel I'm too young for this, but apparently it's not my decision. I'm an HVAC tech with my own business, did my last job (I hope) yesterday. Hoping my business survives, and would also like to hear from any other tradespeople on how they got back to work, issues with ladders, lifting, bending, etc. Thanks!
LBHR June 9, 2011, St. Joseph's, Denver, CO

FlbrkMike

Re: 5 days out
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 08:44:17 PM »
Welcome aboard, Denver_wrench.  I think that all of us were anxious to some degree before our surgery but 99.999% have had positive experiences and are 110% glad that we did it.