+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Choosing a Device - Struggling with my decision  (Read 4633 times)

rbt2011

Choosing a Device - Struggling with my decision
« on: June 24, 2011, 09:11:22 PM »
I have read some previous topics in the devices section but wanted to get some updated opinions on devices (the last one I could find was back in 2010).

I need a hip resurfacing and obviously I want it to last for the rest of my life.  Because of this site and because of all the great people that have shared their input, I feel confident that I have the information I need to pick the best surgeon possible.  My struggle is picking the device.

I am 36 and the idea of an uncemented device appeals to me.  The concept of my own bone growing into the device becoming permanently attached and never having to worry about cement breaking down just makes sense to me.  But, I am not a doctor, I am not a scientist, and I don't necessarily want to choose a device that has a lower survivability rate.  One well known surgeon recently told me the BIOMET device is made of "soft" metal when compared to the "hard" metals of the Birmingham.  He also referenced Dr. Gross' financial interest, which he has in my opinion been completely forthright about, and the fact that both components are not FDA approved as a reason not to choose them.   

On the other side.....

The BHR has great results.  There are some fantastic athletes that are accomplishing great things with their devices.  However, the cement issue concerns me because even if it last for 25 years, I will be replacing a hip and will be relatively young.  The Birmingham is definitely the leader in terms of long term, clinical data supporting high survivability.  It's also the choice of some serious athletes, many of which are on this site. 

It seems like doctor's choose one device and basically use that exclusively (with a few exceptions).  My question is this?