+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: ARP Wave  (Read 2132 times)

jmcmanemin

ARP Wave
« on: August 29, 2011, 08:46:29 PM »
I've been considering hip resurfacing for a few years, but just saw the ad for ARP Wave and looked into it a little. It would be nice to avoid surgery of any kind if it works. Has anyone had any experience with ARP wave that they can share with me?
Thanks.

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: ARP Wave
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 09:19:19 PM »
Hi

So far there are no treatments to improve a deteriorated hip.  If there were, this website would not exist.  Steriod shots are often used and some people get arthroscopy depending on their problem.  Most have found that they still needed a hip resurfacing.  They are able to grow cartilage in dogs and horses, but not in human hips yet.  Hopefully, that will happen in the future, but no one is even close yet.

So the answer is that if your hip is deteriorated you can try strengthening muscles around it, try glucosimine and condroiten and even steriod shots - but sooner or later the only way to stop pain and get active is to have a hip replacement.

Pat
Webmaster/Owner of Surface Hippy
3/15/06 LBHR De Smet

hernanu

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 10:30:36 PM »
Hi, first I want to praise your ability to be open minded and research all possibilities. It's what got me to consider hip resurfacing instead of the alternative that was pushed to me (THR) in its stead.

I considered and partook of a lot of different possible therapies, from physical therapy to deep tissue massage, to holistic medicines, pain killers, different modes of training my muscles, etc.  I even did a workout boot camp thinking to shock my system into correction. I think you'll find many inventive and inquisitive people here, all of whom did their own research into every avenue, since none of us wanted to have the surgery.