+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: New New York Times Article  (Read 2582 times)

brightside

New New York Times Article
« on: October 21, 2011, 07:15:01 PM »
I am a newbie here and have found this site as a result of hip arthritis.  I am 55 years old.  I have found this site very informative.  Some of the members on here may have already found this.  I know there have been other New York Times articles that have at times been skewed.  A physician named Dr. Judith Walsh from UC San Francisco is not endorsing hip resurfacing  ..."an influential group has found that there is insufficient evidence to show that an alternative technique known as hip resurfacing is as safe and effective as a traditional replacement..."  Evidently Blue Shields has a California Technology Assessment Forum that Dr. Walsh is involved in.  This particular doctor is not a surgeon but an internist.  She claims to have a speciality in women's health and prevention.

Although I am a newbie the article was not fully informative.  There seemed to be alot of key areas missing.  Any thoughts would be interesting.  If you just goggle Dr. Judith Walsh and hip resurfacing you can find it.  Fortunately Blue Shields is not dropping it but I worry about this particular article.  I am also surprised that this Doctor could come up with such justification when she is not an orthopedist ( although not entirely necessary I admit)  Her bio seems to be more interested in hormonal fluctuations and heart disease as well as diet.

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: New New York Times Article
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2011, 07:21:26 PM »
There have been a lot of articles in the NY times.  Most are very biased and contain partial truths.  If you would like to hear responses to these negative articles please listen to the following: 

http://www.surfacehippy.info/doctorinterviews/mcminninterview.php
McMinn responds