+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 3 Year update after Revision to MoM THR  (Read 4370 times)

revision

3 Year update after Revision to MoM THR
« on: October 23, 2011, 09:33:06 AM »
Hi All. I know I have a MoM THR but though that some of you might like to read a very short update on my progress 3 years after my revision from BHR to THR.

I had my revision Surgery preformed by Dr Keon De Smet in 2008. I was nervous at that time about my future as I am now only 45 and very active. I had my metals ions checked this week and my Chromium was 0.9ug/l and Cobalt 1.9 ug/l.

My big fear after the MoM THR revision was would I really be able to be active again. The answer is yes. I currently swim 1 km a day 6 days a week. I walk regular 4 to 5 km walks several times a week. I manage and training a soccer team twice a week and work hard without many problems as I am an electrician. There  are days when I do know I have a lump of metal inside me but 99% of the time all is really good.

To those of you who may face a Revision as some stage its not as bad as it sounds. I am sad my BHR didnt last more than 6 months but delighted with my THR revision.

Thanks for listening

Revision

curt

• Runner with the cruddy cartilage
Re: 3 Year update after Revision to MoM THR
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 09:46:34 AM »
Sounds awesome.  One of the reasons that I was so excited about doing a HR was that I had the option to go to a THR if necessary.  Basically, my hip was so bad that I had to do SOMETHING!  Its great that you have such a good activity level.  Gives me the confidence that a THR while not preferred is still a quantum improvement over severe OA.  Best of luck.  Curt
51 yr, RHBiomet, Dr. Gross, 9/30/11
happy, hopeful, hip-full

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2011, 11:06:54 AM »
Hi Revision