+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Pre-op Screening  (Read 2311 times)

Dozer26

Pre-op Screening
« on: December 10, 2011, 08:20:01 PM »
New to the board and though I’ve been reading your posts for the past month, this is my  first. My better half suggested I put down a marker before hand so here goes with my story. I’m a Navy vet with 20+ years in the game. I’m also a hockey player, runner, and weight lifter - well, I used to be before the rhumitis took me out of competition. Happened slowly over the past 10 years and it’s only been the last few months that i’ve had to drop the squats, presses and deadlifts. Running and ice time are well in the past though, and I’m hanging on to my military career by the skin of my teeth.

With that I’m on the table at the end of next month for the first of two BHR’s by Dr. Brooks with Cleveland Clinic, that is if I pass the pre-surgery screening. I’ve heard about all sorts of things knocking people out - metal and other allergies, blood clotting issues, heart, liver and/or kidney problems, etc. Since I’m running up on 50 I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how to prep for the test to improve the odds of passing? I’m highly motivated and would dine on chimpmunks and rutebegas if it would help me get through this successfully. Either that or let me know I’m making too much of nothing. Thanks!

Shelby
Bilat BHR Dr. Brooks, Cleveland Clinic
Jan/May 2012

Luanna

Re: Pre-op Screening
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 08:39:16 PM »
Welcome Shelby. Sounds like you are doing all your research to help ensure that you have a positive outcome.