+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Crossing midline?  (Read 1263 times)

mountaingoat

Crossing midline?
« on: February 14, 2012, 03:06:51 PM »
I am terrible at understanding the hip precautions. Can someone explain to me all the ways in which one would typically cross the midline? I understand that I should not cross my legs but if I sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs as I was told was ok does that mean my legs must stay straight and not bend at the knee at all. Clearly, I shouldn't be doing any of the classic yoga seated twists which involve bringing your leg across your chest but its not like I'll be doing yoga anytime soon anyway.

Seriously, I am an attorney but I barely made it past geometry in high school! I have ZERO ability to understand visual/technical things like this  :-\ Needless to say, it drives my husband who has an engineering degree absolutely nuts.
I'm not even going to ask about sex because I'll never be able to visualize what is ok and what isn't ;)

Thanks ,
Amy

triathlete98

Re: Crossing midline?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 03:12:12 PM »
just draw an imaginary line from the tip of your nose down your chin, split the chest in half  and so on and so fourth til you get to well the end :)  basically don't let the any part of the leg go over to the other side.  Depending upon what type of entry they did the muscles that would support the hip joint when you cross over the leg have been compramised and thats when the dislocation would occur.  Definitly no Yoga poses. Keep the right side on the right and the left side on the left and you'll be good.

mslendzion

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 08:20:57 PM »
How many weeks until this restriction is lifted?
Left BHR 1/9/12 Dr. Schmitt

Two4One

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 01:59:32 AM »