+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Should I go through with the surgery or wait and manage?  (Read 5009 times)

mike1966

Should I go through with the surgery or wait and manage?
« on: February 25, 2012, 07:23:50 PM »
I am a 45 year old male in Tasmania with OA due for BHR surgery in 8 days but I have the jitters and I am unsure if I should be having the surgery now or managing my condition.

I am a teacher and an active sportsman all my life. OA in my left hip has prevented me from doing the kicks in taekwondo (which I teach and from running)

I read your polls about how bad people were pre-op though and i noticed that only 13% can walk a mile without significant discomfort. I can do that fairly easily. I Just sat down from a 3 mile walk and I had only mild discomfort.

I cant run any great distance or kick or sit with my legs crossed but I can walk or cycle or kayak and ride my jet ski long distances with little pain and get through my day as a teacher with very little pain.

My motives for agreeing to the surgery was restoration of a very active lifestyle but most of those having surgery seem to be describing significantly more pain than I am in. My xray reports werent great and the surgeon and my GP seemed to think I needed the surgery but I have read counter arguments to hang onto your own hip as long as you can.

My question is this, have many members had surgery to restore high activity levels rather than pain relief for daily activities and how successful has it been in achieving those aims? Should I do it?

Many thanks for your help

Mike
LBHR 2nd April 2012 Dr Van Winden

ZAP

Re: Should I go through with the surgery or wait and manage?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 08:12:54 PM »