+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: "RUSH-ing" It After BHR - A Drummer's Note  (Read 3682 times)

jakemn

"RUSH-ing" It After BHR - A Drummer's Note
« on: March 01, 2012, 04:26:37 PM »
Well, here it is, exactly two weeks out from surgery, and I just couldn't wait any longer.  I had to get behind the practice drum kit and play a few songs, it felt GREAT!   I decided to go for a short, well-practiced, setlist by my favorite band, Rush, including the songs "Limelight", "Circumstances", "Freewill", and "Middletown Dreams".  I am a right-handed drummer, so my right operated side is on the main kick drum pedal and I do have an auxiliary pedal for double bass lines.   The only real problems I experienced were my right foot had a tendency to slip off the DW bass pedal to the right side (i.e. migrating away from the center) a bit, but not to the extent I couldn't pull it back in.  I am fortunate that the operated side is not controlling hi-hat accents, because that would be too much lifting at the hip joint I believe.  With my style, I use my ankles more than lifting at the hip and slamming down on the pedal like metal drummers tend to do.  Of course, not having played for a couple of weeks (the day before surgery), I was somewhat rusty and I found my timing was bit off, but surprisingly not too bad!  I need to remember to stock my drumstick holders to the left and right with the same size sticks.. I dropped one of my beefy Promark 747B Super-rock sticks in the middle of "Freewill" (rockers, you know the part LOL!), and reached for one, and it happened to be a little, tiny  5A size guy..ooops!  There is a marked difference in weight and especially LENGTH between those particular sticks, and I really felt it!  The short stick caused me to lean a bit forward to strike cymbals, it was a bit of a challenge with a big slice on your hip LOL!  I would say muting the cymbals with your hand was also a bit of a challenge as it forces you to lean forward a bit too far, but the double bas