+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Is this really possible ? - Can I be a goalie again ?  (Read 17182 times)

Mr.Box

Is this really possible ? - Can I be a goalie again ?
« on: July 20, 2012, 08:10:28 PM »
Hi Guys,

I've read most of the posts on this forum in the last few years wondering if I could actually go back to playing like my old self again. I have to credit this forum with finally helping me make the choice of taking the plunge with hip resurfacing. My story is below:

I started playing roller hockey around the age of 16, nobody else wanted to be goalie so I ended up buying the pads piece by piece. It was much simpler back then, stick, ball or puck, a fence to call a goal, baseball glove, and a good tolerance for pain. I began working aggressively on my flexibility and by the end of High School, I was the most flexible of my teenage years. I joined a local hockey rink and progressed through the divisions and absolutely adored the attention that playing well brings.

Around 21-22 I was playing on 7 teams a week ( 3 ice ( 2 house divisions and 1 travel ) and 3 roller teams ) I really started testing my body and noticed it was kicking back. I had a bunch of groin issues and hamstring issues ( so I thought ). I wasn't a pro and I chalked it up to being a 6'3" and 240lb goalie who probably should lose some lbs. My right leg ROM started diminishing at this point and I ended up completely changing the style of goaltending that I had previously used. No longer was I able to do the splits as a desperation save attempt. The ROM changes started affecting my right side kicks saves and how I flared out my legs and pads. I started cheating more and more to the right and had the glove hand to make up for it ( thank god ).