+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Backache after hip resurfacing  (Read 2544 times)

Rach41

Backache after hip resurfacing
« on: July 22, 2012, 05:57:07 PM »
Hi all well I am 10 weeks post op on Tuesday😊 I had my right hip resurfaced. Yesterday I noticed that I was suffering from lower left back pain. Could this be related to my hip. When I walk I concentrate on striding out and not limping! I had a post op check a few weeks ago and everything was textbook and in a good place! Did anyone else have backache following resurfacing? ThanksL
Accis right hip resurfacing on 15.05.2012 by Mr Woodnutt, Morriston Hospital, Swansea

Woodstock Hippy

Re: Backache after hip resurfacing
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 06:23:29 AM »
Rach, First of all congratulations on your new hip.  The back ache definitely could be from working against the limp.  You have to keep working on it though and start doing some back stretching exercises.  In my 40 year career as a heavy construction carpenter I would have a lot of back aches, I'd get on the floor and stretch and pull it out after a couple of days.  Are you working with a PT?  They can get you started on stretching and stretching your back.
Bilateral, Dr Scott Marwin, NYU Joint Disease Hosp, 11/15/11

Rach41

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 08:18:40 AM »
Hi no I am not working with a PT but will look into it. Apart from this niggle in my back - the opposite side from where i had the op! I am thrilled as no more horrific bone on bone pain 😃
Accis right hip resurfacing on 15.05.2012 by Mr Woodnutt, Morriston Hospital, Swansea

Woodstock Hippy

« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2012, 09:06:18 AM »
It's nice isn't it?  You'll get through the back problem.  It shouldn't be to much work and once you learn the exercises, you can do them a couple of times a week to keep your back in shape.