+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Dr Gross vs Dr Raterman  (Read 2749 times)

blt01

Dr Gross vs Dr Raterman
« on: September 05, 2012, 12:50:34 PM »
Hi Hipsters! 

I'm new to the surface hippy site, but not new to hip pain.  Have been considering hip resurfacing for a few years and it's time.  I live in TN and my insurance will allow me to go out of town and it's considered in network.  I have researched and have narrowed my search to Dr Gross and Dr Raterman.  Can anyone or everyone please chime in on how I can determine which one of these Dr to use?

Thank you in advance. 
L Biomet Recap - Dr Gross - 11-14-12

hernanu

Re: Dr Gross vs Dr Raterman
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 03:19:40 PM »
Welcome to the site! This is a great place to do your research.  The main thing you want with a surgeon is experience, a continuing commitment to the procedure (do many per week), and skill.

The first two can be measured in a fashion by looking at the number of procedures that they have done (experience), by how many they do per week (commitment).

The third, skill is much more difficult to gauge, since we are not experts on this and can't really tell whether something is being done correctly. You can look at secondary cues like who they trained with, with several top surgeons around the world training very good surgeons. You can also look at their results - how many of their HRs were revised, whether they have the confidence to handle and be successful with higher risk patients, and ultimately, word of mouth.

In a way the last is incomplete, since many hippys are happy to go on with their life and should do so. So they are not available to tout their surgeon. There are, though surgeons that have many happy patients who will post in sites like this, so that in itself has value.