+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Some Random Thoughts on the Life of a Resurfacing  (Read 6344 times)

stephen1254

Some Random Thoughts on the Life of a Resurfacing
« on: September 08, 2012, 01:06:26 PM »
A question was posted in another area about weight lifting - particularly squatting - after a resurfacing. This got me thinking about stuff.

I'm not a doctor - nor do I play one on TV - but I've read general comments about the life of a resurfacing being 15 years or so. Why does it wear out?

When you look at the design of the natural hip it would appear that the femoral neck is in shear, as it sits at an angle to the socket in the pelvis. Logic would dictate, however, that it is primarily in compression - otherwise it's a bad design that evolution would have weeded out. It would seem logical that the loads on the femur would be primarily distributed throughout the hip socket, and not overly loaded at any one point.

This would also seem to be borne out by the emphasis in resurfacing at getting the cup angle "just right." A cup at the wrong angle puts localized load on one portion of the cup leading to premature wear. This would indicate that a cup placed at the right angle distributes the load on the cup more evenly, reducing localized wear. That would also indicate to me that the loads on a resurfacing implant are primarily compressive, and that the load on the femoral neck is primarily compressive, otherwise you would always be edge loading some part of the implant.

The only thing that would cause a resurfacing to need replacing would therefore be excessive wear, and likely all over the implant and not particularly localized. I guess. Maybe I'm wrong about that.