+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Resurfacing failure  (Read 5630 times)

Krmfly41

Resurfacing failure
« on: December 26, 2013, 08:18:30 PM »
Has anyone had their resurfacing fail?  If so did you get a total hip replacement? And what hardware did you use?
 Hi I am a newbie here.  I just saw my surgeon today DEC 26 2013. And after 2 years...the hip he resurfaced in Jan 2011 has failed. The femoral pin has loosened and is causing me severe pain. I am very sad about it,because the right hip that he resurfaced in 2008 is perfect so I know how great resurfaced hips can be. I will be scheduled for revision surgery in Jan.  just wondering if anyone out there has a similar story?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2013, 03:21:07 AM by Krmfly41 »

hernanu

Re: Resurfacing failure
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2013, 10:03:10 AM »
Hi, welcome to the site, unfortunately for this reason.

Really sorry it failed - we have several folks here who have had their resurfacing fail, most were revised with THRs.

The type of revision can vary. According to the Australian registry, which keeps tabs on replacements / resurfacings in Australia, and is the most thorough, the revision types are: isolated femoral (48.2%), total hip replacement (41.75%) or acetabular only (6.8%).

I assume that can also change by what the surgeon believes in and / or is skilled in. As with resurfacing, for yourself, you want to choose the best possible surgeon, since you want the best outcome, even if you have to travel for it.

I would talk to several surgeons who are highly skilled in both THR and HR and see whether the resurfacing can be saved. If not, then there are very successful THRs available to alleviate your pain. But pick a really good surgeon.