+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Help - Questions - Anxiety - Fear  (Read 5418 times)

mmooney42

Help - Questions - Anxiety - Fear
« on: February 03, 2014, 11:33:45 AM »
Hi,

I posted this under Dr. Su's section as well.

I am 43, 44 next month, healthy active male.  Tore my labrum 14 years ago.  Scoped 10 years ago.  Been researching HR for years.  Currently, I am scheduled for surgery with Dr. in a few weeks, but I really don't want to get it done.  I am scared out of my mind and my anxiety levels are through the roof.

Right now, I have what seems to be a constant soreness in my groin, not severe, but something that is always there.  You constantly feel it.  A few months ago, that wasn’t the case.  It would just get sore with certain exercises.  But now, I feel pretty consistently.  Mild soreness, like a light burning sensation that gets worse with certain exercises.

Timing wise, I'd rather wait until December (I work as a football official in the fall), but am conerned I won't make it that far this time.  Each year, I keep re-evaluating and try to make it through another season.  Part of me wants to get it done and get on the road to recovery, but part of me never wants to get it done.

I am not sure what others have experienced from an anxiety, depression & fear standpoint leading up to surgery, but I am feeling it pretty hard.  Can't sleep and always thinking about it now.  If the date wasn't scheduled, I probably wouldn't feel that way, I'd just be complaining about my hip and talking about needing to get it done.  But with the scheduled date approaching, the realization hits me hard.

When I go down for my pre-surgical visit, my hope is that I will get to see Dr. Su and have him look at the new xray and see how much has changed since Septemer, and discuss the posssibility of putting it off and maybe go the cortisone injection route.