+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: RUNNING PAIN!!! Advice Please...  (Read 18382 times)

kevmeikle

RUNNING PAIN!!! Advice Please...
« on: February 27, 2014, 06:06:20 AM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to the discussion group so apologies if this has already been covered elsewhere.

To give some background - I am 31 and had a BHR 2 1/2 years ago following a diagnosis of osteoarthritis when I was 16 which became too much to withstand. I am athletic, 6' 1" and weigh a fairly lean 220lbs. I currently train at a functional strength gym and cycle often without any pain or discomfort.

I'm preparing for a 10km assault course run; and whilst gym work (cross-fit style training 3 times/week) is going well and also cycling without any pain - following any running I'm experiencing extreme pain in hip. My conditioning is good so I have no problem doing the run (currently around 4-5kms) despite discomfort - but as soon as I stop the pain is intense

To describe the pain, I would liken it to the pain I experienced when my arthritis was at its worst or post-surgery pain. The only way to alleviate this is to take a lot of pain relief, have a bath then rest up. The following day the pain is gone.

The discussion group is full of success stories and positive messages but I wondered whether anyone else experiences this level of extreme discomfort following exercise and whether this could potentially be damaging in the long term?

Thanks kindly ahead of time for any responses

Best wishes,

Kev.

obxpelican

Re: RUNNING PAIN!!! Advice Please...
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2014, 09:01:00 AM »
We've had lots of people who worked themselves back into running and found themselves where you are. 

Take a couple of weeks off and work yourself back up to where you are now and see what happens.  Sounds like you have a major inflammation problem going on.

Chuck
Chuck
RH/Biomet U/C Dr. Gross/Lee Webb
8-6-08

kevmeikle

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2014, 10:04:35 AM »