+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Psoas causing back pain?  (Read 14430 times)

mickymoko

Psoas causing back pain?
« on: May 15, 2014, 06:33:39 AM »
Hi, newbie here`Had BHR in Birmingham with Mr Treacy in November last year`Everything went fantastically well as he said it would`Started back on weights after 8 weeks,no squats or heavy loading and started cardio two months ago. Started a walking program,walking 25 miles a week and HIIT on Stationary bike and Step machine two months ago.Experienced no problems at all.

Introduced kettlebells a month ago,started to notice psoas tendon slipping over pubic bone around this time,no pain but an unusual feeling as though it was loose,not tight.Was working out last weekend on kettlebells and felt something go in that area, not especially painful but obviously not right.Then got a lot of pain and stiffness  in lower back had to take high doses of anti inflammatories and back has been really stiff and sore.

Now unable to bend,put socks on etc, sitting is unpleasant although walking helps.Have been looking at some stretching exercises for the psoas but was wondering if anyone else has experienced this or could give advice before I consider PT. I am particularly concerned that I have undone all the previous good work and loosened the psoas.I realise that it is only a matter of days ,although there have been signs of improvement, i am still worried ,particularly as the psoas now seems to be slipping a lot.Advice much appreciated

chuckm

Re: Psoas causing back pain?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 08:00:56 AM »
mickymoko, you are the second BHR person this week who has reported pain and/or injury while using kettle bells.

An injured or painful psoas tendon (part of the hip flexor group) is not likely to improve with any stretching or exercise. Only rest. Especially for a hip resurfacing patient.