+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Op booked, Surgeon gave a THR warning!RHBHR booked for Jan 15.  (Read 5786 times)

MPH

Op booked, Surgeon gave a THR warning!RHBHR booked for Jan 15.
« on: September 16, 2014, 11:27:34 AM »
Hi, although not a total newbie to the forum this is my first post. I'm a 47 yr old very active male with 3 kids. I cycle, swim, run(used to), waterski, wakeboard etc etc and keep fitter than most 25 yr olds I know 😏 . I live Down Under and recently flew interstate to see one of Melbourne's best HR surgeons who is named on the lists here. He's a researcher too and when I saw him he gave me the " if the head isn't big enough, and it looks like you're right on the cusp,  I may have to do a THR'. This is all down to the increase in revision rates for <50mm femoral components. I'm devastated because of my age, activity desires with a young family etc etc  I thought I'd tick all the boxes. I've now read all the HR research journal articles I can find (some written by my surgeon) and am worried I'm not going to get the resurface. I have a really active job and need to stay as active as possible. I've measured X-ray after X-ray hoping I'll fit the HR profile and think I do but hey, I ain't no surgeon! I really don't want a THR with worries of dislocation, employment worries etc etc. The surgeon is awesome, he knows his stuff that's for sure and I know I trust and respect him. I just wondered if this is a standard line they have to give or am I clutching at straws? I'm weighing up whether to live with acute pain for longer just to be able to do things with the kids. 🙏
RBHR 13th Jan 2015 Andrew Shimmin, Melbourne AUS. 52mm head/58mm cup.

einreb

Re: Op booked, Surgeon gave a THR warning!RHBHR booked for Jan 15.
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 01:28:33 PM »
Did he tell you what the 'backup' thr device would be?