+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Bilateral next month  (Read 3960 times)

Snowbound

Bilateral next month
« on: December 17, 2014, 10:52:00 PM »
New member here. I've been browsing lots of good info on this site for the last few weeks, this is my first time posting. I'm scheduled to have both hips resurfaced the end of January. This Friday I go in for my pre-surgery appointments. I don't really have any questions, but I'm sure I will once I start the recovery process.

I gave up skiing a couple of years ago and had to quit hockey last year. Since then my activity level has dropped right off. My biggest problem is just standing or walking.  15 or 20 minutes on my feet and my hips are aching, particulate the right side. Social events like house parties just kill me.

I started going to the gym a couple of months ago and doing yoga to get my self in as good as shape as possible before the surgery. It's a challenge at times with bad hips but I feel a lot better for it.

I'm 54 and just celebrated 4 years of being cancer free. When I turned 50 I went for a physical and with the psa test discover that I had prostate cancer. I was fortunate I caught it when I did because the tumor was large, but hadn't started to spread yet. The hip surgery scars will nicely bookend the centered one I have from the prostatectomy.  ;D

Dannywayoflife

Re: Bilateral next month
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2014, 11:14:07 PM »
Hi and welcome ;) who is your surgeon? And where in the world are you?
Train hard fight easy
LBHR 10/11/2011 Mr Ronan Treacy Birmingham England
60mm cup 54mm head
Rbhr 54mm head 60mm cup 12/02/15 Ronan Treacy ROH Birmingham England
;)

Snowbound

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 07:47:22 AM »
I'm in Ontario, Canada and my surgeon is Paul Beaule.

hernanu

« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2014, 12:33:30 PM »
Congrats on deciding to have it done. It's been great for me - I'm a bi hippy also, at 4+ years now.