+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Dr. Marchand  (Read 5337 times)

jschoef

Dr. Marchand
« on: March 30, 2015, 03:14:16 PM »
I first heard about the BHR watching the Tour de France when Floyd Landis (cough) won it.  I then continually researched this procedure and met many doctors including Dr. Su. in NYC who is one of the most known doctors for this surgery.  He was pleasant enough…but I drove 5 hours to meet him and paid nearly $500.00 for the appointment and he spent about 10 minutes with me, which is fine as it wasn’t a surprise what was wrong with my hip.  I had all the xrays and an mri already done.  Over the next few years after meeting him, I was supposed to get him new xrays every year which was a challenge.  I would mail them and the PA would tell me the disk didn’t work (I am an IT professional, I tested the disk before I sent it in).  I then would email them and the PA would tell me he couldn’t see it well.  I would also not get very clear answer from the PA about what to do or how my hip was doing.  I gave up after some time and stopped contact with his office.  Now 6 years later I make an appointment with Dr. Marchand in RI.  He was very pleasant and informative.  He even gave me his personal cell phone number (which I am sure he regrets).  He talked to me several times before the surgery via text and voice.  He performed the surgery on me 7 weeks ago and I am almost fully recovered.  Dr. Marchand has done over 1300 BHRs and that info should be updated on this site.  He has a 3 month wait list of patients and when I ask him questions via text, he still always gets right back to me immediately even on the weekends.  I have never met a doctor like him.  I cannot say enough good things about this Doctor.  His staff is very pleasant to deal with also.  On a side note, Dr. Su doesn’t take my insurance and from what I know, he doesn’t take a lot of major insurances.  Dr. Marchand does, so this wasn’t too expensive either.  I was also an out of state patient.