+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Bilateral operation July 2015  (Read 13515 times)

Paul_D

Bilateral operation July 2015
« on: May 25, 2015, 03:05:07 AM »
Hello All,

This is my first post and I am scheduled for bilateral hip resurfacing by Dr. Bose in July this year.

I am nervous as hell as I have never spent time in hospital let alone an operation of such calibre. I am scared of the general anaesthetic the most and how I will feel when (if) I wake up.

My background is that I am a 44 year old male that has had quite an active earlier life. I played basketball in my younger years and also to some degree gymnastics although not so good at it. I played golf, football, cricket, skiing and surfing. My flexibility has been always quite rigid and at the age of 34 I was told that I had early onsets of OA. This was from a chiropractor that I had once seen because of a sore lower back problem. He insisted that I get an xray on my hips and he called me the following day with this news. Basically he said in 10 years that I will need total hip replacement and he was 100% correct to the year.

In the years following this announcement my hips did become more stiffer up and til today I now have great difficulty tieing up my shoelaces, picking things off the ground and walking more than 500m without pain. If I sit for 5 or 10 minutes I can then continue some more. My quality of life has suffered as I avoid any activity that requires walking. I am lucky that my job is office based and I can sit in the luxury of my desk but there are times I should go to work sites which always put myself in awkward situations having to explain my condition.

I have chosen bilateral although my right hip is probably 1 to 2 years ahead of my left in OA stages. My thinking is to get it over and done with and rehabilitate both hips at the same time evenly. Due to my fear of operations I think I could only endure this once!