+-

Author Topic: Muscle soreness vs implant pain...  (Read 1465 times)

shabbis

Muscle soreness vs implant pain...
« on: May 26, 2015, 04:11:36 PM »
Last Saturday I ran outdoors for the first time since surgery, around 8 miles (feels sooo amazing to be running again, by the way). As a result, I've had a lot of soreness and pain in the glute and hamstring, some limping involved. It feels like it has improved since Saturday, been cycling instead since then. I was cleared by the Dr at 2 months to go back to all previous activities, so I assume the implant is solid at this point.

Since I am new to having an implant, how can I tell the difference between just muscle pain and actual implant pain? If I have damaged the implant at all, I am assuming the pain would manifest itself similar to the arthritis pain I had before (feeling of a pulled groin muscle, lower back pain, etc)? Also maybe the pain wouldn't subside with time, like muscle pain does?

I am at a point in my recovery now where I can really push the hip to its limits and I am worried about possibly damaging it. Are there any signs I can look for to make sure that I am only putting stress on the muscles and not the actual implant?
11/25/2014 LBHR Dr Pritchett

petemeads

Re: Muscle soreness vs implant pain...
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2015, 06:37:17 PM »
My BHR is a week older than yours, I started jogging a bit at 8 weeks but running properly at 3 months, just 5k once a week. In the last month I have started adding an hour+ extra run so I am training again. This is coupled with walking a lot and cycling a bit. The BHR hip can feel a bit sore at times, but it is like the scar tissue is tight or rubbing on something. It always recovers overnight. The OEM hip is the limiting factor and complains if I do too much too often, and I take the odd Ibuprofen tablet to help settle the inflammation. I don't believe we are going to damage our new hips now, apart from falling off the bike of course!