+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Anyone? Synovo Preserve - metal/ceramic on poly with Dr Pritchett  (Read 12983 times)

buckeyefans

Hello -

My wife is considering resurfacing with Dr. Pritchett.  So far, he has been quite helpful and accessible.  The Synovo Preserve device is what he has initially suggested, pending further exam.  It appears he is the only doc using this device.  He also does the BHR, which might be an option for her at 5'9".  There isn't much objective information of the Synovo Preserve device - can anyone speak to this device? 

Thanks   
« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 08:33:03 PM by buckeyefans »

Michigan97

Re: Anyone? Synovo Preserve - metal/ceramic on poly with Dr Pritchett
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2016, 02:01:32 PM »
Hey, Buckeye,

I have some firsthand experience for you. I had my hip resurfaced on June 30, 2015 by Dr. Pritchett; he used the Synovo Preserve. I had a great experience. His staff was quick and efficient from the start. Aside from that, my surgery lasted about 1.5 hours, I had the spinal block, and dissolvable suturing. I'm extremely pleased seven months out. I have been biking and running for months on my new hip (I bike 5-7 miles a day, 3-4 times a week; I run 1 mile 2-3 times a week).

I was initially schedule to have a metal-on-metal BHR, but the risk of metallosis scared me. Besides, having a cemented piece guarantees you a total hip replacement sometime in your life. My aim was longevity. The Synovo is titanium nitride (if I remember correctly) with ceramic coating and cross-linked polyethylene liner, which means if anything wears out, it will most likely be the liner and easily replaced. I have been happy thus far and I highly recommend it to your wife, especially since there is a higher risk of metallosis among females. Why put your kidneys through that?

And, by the way, Go Blue!

buckeyefans

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2016, 03:18:04 PM »