+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Should I wait for surgery ?  (Read 2691 times)

brianflanagan

Should I wait for surgery ?
« on: August 24, 2016, 12:06:30 PM »
Hi dear members,

I'm 38 years old, considering hip resurfacing for my hip.

As I would like to do snowboarding for next winter period, maybe in january or in march, I think I would rather wait after march to go and get operated.
I've been doing snowboard for more than 10 years, but honestly, my performance are worse and worse because of my hip, but still I can enjoy time with friends. I don't think I would be ready in January if I get hip resurfacing in September.

What do you think ?
I still can wait for my surgery. But of course, I am feeling pain every day and I've stopped doing martial arts, running or sport activities that will solicit my hip. I can still do work out, going to the beach, doing some other things, if I manage my hip.
I've already lost 3.5cm compared to my other thigh.

[/size][size=78%]How long will I have to wait to be able to do snowboard at a decent level after surgery ?[/size]
[/size]
[/size][size=78%]Thank you for your help[/size]
Left hip 11/03/2018 - Dr Chris Whately

MattJersey

Re: Should I wait for surgery ?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 03:57:38 PM »
can't really advise whether to wait, but I think it is fair to say that most contributors on here would say they were happy to get it done when they did, or wished they'd got it done sooner.

regarding winter sports, my surgeon, Mr McMinn, recommends skipping one winter. so if you got it done now then winter (northern hemisphere) 2017-2018 would be your time to return following his guidance ...

good luck with your choice and your op if you proceed.
28 April 2015, RBHR Mr McMinn

brianflanagan

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2016, 01:36:08 PM »
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.
Ok, so maybe it would be better to wait for after this snowboard season (March 2017) and get this surgery.