+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 2 1/2 weeks since right hip BHR with Dr Smalzried  (Read 1535 times)

Elmo Te

2 1/2 weeks since right hip BHR with Dr Smalzried
« on: December 08, 2017, 06:47:36 PM »
I am a firefighter/paramedic/inspector in Los Angeles who suffered OA and the avulsion of a large chunk of acetabular cartilage in my right hip over 15 years ago.  This left me in debilitating pain for over a year, when I was finally able to get a debridement of the loose bodies and torn cartilage.  That improved my condition to what I considered 90% of normal for a number of years.  Later as pain returned, it was treated (through worker's comp) in conservative, and gradually increasing degrees.  I had PT, constant Celebrex, a number of x-rays and MRIs, acupuncture, with TENS occasionally.  My research brought me to this site 7 or 8 years ago, and I began to lobby for resurfacing.  I visited Dr. Smalzried, who felt I was a good candidate, but thought I had not exhausted the injection approach, which was giving very effective relief for varying time periods.  Also at that time, W/C was not really supportive of hip resurfacing.  But as a paramedic, I had seen way too many people with THR fall in old age and re-fracture the
hip/femur/implant which then became a virtual death sentence.  The idea of conserving the bone, allowing for revision at a later date if needed really appealed to me.  Also, I had been very active, and did not want to live with all the restrictions of THR.  Finally, there was nothing wrong with my bone at all, and as I am a fairly large guy (6'4" 225, 60 y/o), I certainly fit the profile of the ideal patient for HR (tho some might argue I'm at the outside limit age-wise, Dr Smalzried does not share that concern).