+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 10 years on one, 2 months the other  (Read 2961 times)

John C

10 years on one, 2 months the other
« on: June 22, 2018, 06:24:42 PM »
Last week was the 10 year anniversary on my left hip, and this week I hit the 2 month mark on the right.
All the old timers on here have heard my story too many times, so they can feel free to skip this, but for any newbies on the site, here is my story.
I am a sports instructor year round, teaching high level skiing all day every day all winter, and teaching windsurfing during the summers, with lots of surfing and tennis thrown in. Dr Gross said at the time that I would be a good case study to see how the new hip would hold up. My hip from 10 years ago has worked out great, though I was not the fastest healer over the first couple of months. After some trochanteric bursitis from playing tennis at the one year point, it has been pretty pain free. I was only able to get the strength back to about 85% of the other hip, but that difference only shows up in the gym, and was never noticed doing sports.
Two months ago, I had my right hip also done by Dr Gross, who had fun introducing me as reassurance to a new patient of his who was a skier. I guess the case study came out okay. At this point, it seems like the new hip is working out better and easier than the first, though that is partly from knowing what to expect. At this point I am walking one hour a day, stationary bike. lots of light weights and sports cords, balance work on a Bosu ball, and I am starting to increase my stretching routines. Straight leg lifts and flexion are my current challenges, but I have confidence that those will come. I am taking the summer off to dedicate 100% to rehab, and expect to be back to my regular schedule by next winter. I have a heli ski trip scheduled for December, so that is my goal focus.