+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Cross-linked poly / Dr Pritchett  (Read 2206 times)

ro_bro

Cross-linked poly / Dr Pritchett
« on: October 05, 2018, 02:45:53 AM »
I've been reading this forum for a while, but it's my first time posting. I know there are few Dr Pritchett's patient's here with cross-linked poly devices. I'm considering a surgery with him and this device is an option (along with BHR). I'm a male, 49mm femoral head, so either device should work, according to Dr P. He didn't express a preference. I'm leaning towards the poly device. Anyone had issues with those devices? How about returning to sports? I've seen several success stories, and hope everyone is still doing well!  I'm 43y.o. and active (cross-country skiing, hiking, CrossFit), but prone to auto-immune issues and allergies, so MoM sound riskier to me.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences!

catfriend

Re: Cross-linked poly / Dr Pritchett
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2018, 01:30:31 PM »
I'm a female patient of Dr. Pritchett's. I had the Synovo device implanted nearly 3 (!) years ago. Absolutely no problems whatsoever. It feels like a completely normal, natural hip that never had arthritis. I hike during the summer. I can dance. Or jump up and down. I haven't been cross country skiing in years (not a big fan of the cold), but would not hesitate to do so if I desired. There are some of Dr. P's patients on this site who run (Paprika springs to mind, but there are others) who run regularly. My resurfaced hip is not a consideration for any physical activity I wish to do. Good luck!

grants

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2018, 07:48:48 PM »