+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Dental Work  (Read 1315 times)

jimbone

Dental Work
« on: August 27, 2019, 08:50:28 PM »
Dr. Pritchett has indicated prophylactic antibiotics before all dental work.  I lost a crown a little while ago and was told the underlying tooth needs extraction.  I put this off a couple of months and it now becoming problematic- it hurts enough to know it's got some swelling [infection?]  The dentists office can't see me for another 10 days and I'm wondering if I need to start antibiotics earlier than the appointment.  Anyone with a similar experience?

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Dental Work
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 12:06:13 PM »
I am not a doctor or medically trained.  If it were me, I would call my family doctor and see if he/she thinks you should start antibiotics now.  I have both a BHR and tissue aortic valve which means I have to have antibiotics before dental or any other surgery.  If I get  Bronchitis, I even worry about infection, so the doctors give me antibiotics.  I know you can take too many, but I have a lot at stake if infection goes into my heart valve or MOM hip resurfacing.
So talk to your family doctor or maybe dentist.  My dentist in Ohio won't order antibiotics, I always have to call my family doctor.
Good Luck with the extraction.
Pat
Webmaster/Owner of Surface Hippy
3/15/06 LBHR De Smet

jimbone

Re: Dental Work
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2019, 10:00:05 PM »
Hello Pat