+-

Author Topic: Post Op Activities 10 Week timeline  (Read 223 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Aci335

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Post Op Activities 10 Week timeline
« on: January 27, 2020, 07:00:00 PM »
I had surgery on my right hip Oct 29 2019 in Seattle with Dr. Pritchett.  I am 61. Here is my 10 week timeline of post op activities:
20 hours in post-op then to hotel
Monday Nov 5 fly home to Phoenix
2 weeks on 2 crutches then 1 crutch
Friday Nov 15 started walking with cane
Saturday Nov 16 6 mins on bike trainer
Sunday 5 mins on helix machine
Tuesday 12 mins on bike, 5 on helix
Thursday Nov 21 20 mins on bike
Friday removed rubber foot on cane
Saturday Nov 23 22 mins on bike trainer using handlebars
Sunday Nov 24 10 min helix 20 min bike trainer
Thursday Nov 28 30 secs standing on one leg
Tuesday Nov 26 started swimming and water running
Friday Nov 29 no cane for much of the day
Saturday Nov 30 drove for first time (stick shift)
Sunday 1 hour desert hike with cane
Wed Dec 4 taught university 4 8-12 no sitting
Thurs Dec 4 taught 2 hours
Saturday Dec 7 4 hours teaching
Sunday 90 minutes yard work
Wednesday Dec 11 no cane
Monday to Friday Dec 9-13 4 hours teaching 8-12
Sat Dec 14 1 hr yard work, 40 min outside biking for first time, no longer using sock device or grab-it
Sunday Dec 15 volunteer at running race 5 hours on feet 5:30-10:30
Thurs Dec 19 mountain biking 60 min
Dec 23 8 week X-ray; mailed to doctor, said it was perfect; also said no more ROM restrictions
Dec 31 now swimming and biking regularly; working on ROM
Sat Jan 4 2.25 hr group bike ride
Wed Jan 8 swim and 2 hr mountain hike
Thurs Jan 9 2 hr hike



stevel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Post Op Activities 10 Week timeline
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2020, 03:49:32 PM »
What will be your activities beginning 3 months post-op?  Your surgery date was a couple days before mine.  I will be cleared to downhill ski, racquetball, jog and lift over 50 lbs.
Steve
LBHR 60mm/54mm Dr Su 9/29/08 age 55
RBHR 60mm/54mm Dr Su 11/1/19 age 66

Aci335

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Post Op Activities 10 Week timeline
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2020, 08:29:46 PM »
My plan for the next 3 months is more of what I am already doing.  I will be doing some aquabike races (swim, bike) since I cannot run yet.  Possibly some mountain bike racing.  I have skated once and hope to do more.  I am doing a lot of stretching to regain ROM. I will wait until 6 months before I start running.  I will head north for summer months and will be doing water sports - windsurfing, rowing, kayaking.

Andrew

 

Recent Posts

Advertisements

Donate Thru Pay Pal

Surface Hippy Gear

Accordion Player Pat Webmaster/Owner

Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy

Statcounter

View My Stats

Powered by EzPortal