+-

Author Topic: Skiing after Hip Resurfacing  (Read 9965 times)

John C

Skiing after Hip Resurfacing
« on: September 02, 2008, 07:04:33 AM »
Hey Denise,
I was very interested to hear about your ski patrol friend. Is there any chance that you could ask your friend to do a post about his experience in getting back to skiing at a high level. I have been teaching down in Sun Valley for 38 years, and teach on a fifty hour week schedule. I had a resurfacing in June, and am planning on going back at it in December. I would love to hear from a patroller about what his progression back to work was like, and if he has had to accept any limitations.
I would really appreciate any info on this,

John
John/ Left uncemented Biomet/ Dr Gross/ 6-16-08
Right uncemented Biomet/Dr Gross/ 4/25/18

CITY2SOUTH

« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008, 11:50:01 AM »
All this talk on Montana and skiing is getting me hyped up. I hope when I'm ready to get back on the slopes I can visit with some fellow hippies in the mountains..I sure do miss it.

Lisa
Uncemented/Biomet/Gross/6-23-08
Lisa Uncemented/Biomet/Gross/ 6-23-08

JeanM

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2008, 01:52:02 PM »
Lisa,
You have an open invite to come out to Utah next year.  I live 9 miles from Snowbird.  We can test our new hips on the slopes together!   

Jeanie
Uncemented/Biomet/Gross/8-27-08

stevel

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2008, 03:01:07 PM »
I am an avid downhill skier (ski black diamonds).  I notice Dr. Su recommends waiting 6 mos before impact activities, Dr. McMinn and Dr. Brooks recommend waiting 12 mos before impact activities and Dr. Bose recommends waiting 3 mos before impact activities.  Check out their interviews or websites.  I watched the video of somebody skiing at 4 weeks and 8 weeks after surgery with Dr. Su, but the hill looked like beginner or green dot hill with firm snow conditions.  Hat's off to the guy suiting up and getting on a pair of skiis at 4 weeks and 8 weeks post-op though.
Steve