+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: work up until surgery ?  (Read 2026 times)

mitch

work up until surgery ?
« on: October 03, 2008, 10:32:24 AM »
I was just curious if everyone worked right up untill they had surgery ?
Mitch

B.I.L.L.

Re: work up until surgery ?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2008, 11:20:03 AM »
I'm self employed so no choice for me, I was doing paperwork/organizing sunday night before my 5:30am monday morning surgery, and handling phone calls from the hospital bed on tuesday ::)  If you can get paid time off, go for it !   But if you have limited vacation/sick days, I'd save them for after surgery.

obxpelican

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2008, 11:29:09 AM »
I am a self employed contractor.... I worked up until near my surgery.  Good luck getting a doctor to sign off on disability for you, it's like they are paying your policy.  Like Bill said, save your personal and vacation days for post-op if you can.   

I think most people do work up until their surgeries.

Chuck
Chuck
RH/Biomet U/C Dr. Gross/Lee Webb
8-6-08

Big Bill

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2008, 11:59:07 AM »
Big Bill here.... worked right up until my procedure. I had taken out a short and long term disability plan that helped out alot during my post period. My Doc had no problem with signing the  particular papers/paperwork. I returned to work yesterday!

Big Bill    C.A.S.H.   7/9/08       8)

blmjumper

• Hope is not a strategy
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2008, 12:19:20 PM »
I plan on it....why not? Save those sick days for recovery and "bad days" afterwards.

mitch

« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2008, 12:56:08 PM »
I was just curious, I work for a big aerospace company and we have pretty decent benny''s. I get up to 6 months off at 40 hours pay. I'm pretty Blessed in that area. I don't want to be the only weenie that took off before surgery lol
Mitch

blmjumper

• Hope is not a strategy
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2008, 02:29:35 PM »
Now I understand.