+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Are there any martial artists out there?  (Read 2060 times)

jeanco

Are there any martial artists out there?
« on: December 26, 2008, 05:36:49 PM »
Hi.  My name is Jeanne, and I have been having hip pain for over two years.  I have been practicing Aikido, a fairly low impact martial art for over three years.  I've been told that I need a THR or a resurfacing procedure, and I'm getting to the point where I think I need to do it.
I'm worried that I won't be able to practice Aikido after I have recovered.  I'm hoping to hear from someone that has experience with this issue.

John C

Re: Are there any martial artists out there?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 08:10:13 PM »
If you look around, you will find numerous videos of people practicing Karate at very high levels after resurfacing. Because Aikido involves more falls and impacts on the mat, I think that will be the main concern that you will want to discuss with your doctor. In large part because of my hip issues over the past twenty years prior to surgery, I switched from Karate to Tai Chi, which I think is very good for my new hip.
John/ Left uncemented Biomet/ Dr Gross/ 6-16-08
Right uncemented Biomet/Dr Gross/ 4/25/18

Leonardo

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2008, 11:10:57 AM »
Hi John,

I've been doing Tai Chi for many years and I love it. I'm now 3 weeks post op and I was wondering if Tai Chi is good or not after BHR.
My question is because most of the Tai Chi movements are twisting the HIP and I'm not sure if this is the best for us.....
How long are you beeing doing it?

Leo.

John C

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2008, 09:52:11 PM »
Hi Leo,