+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Muscle cramping in lower leg and foot 6 mos. post op  (Read 2428 times)

Cubby52

Muscle cramping in lower leg and foot 6 mos. post op
« on: December 29, 2008, 08:14:26 AM »
I am 6 mos post op and very active; had a great deal of swelling on op leg 3 days after surgery but hopped on treadmill and worked out slowly.
 Now, 6 mos. later, I have lower leg and foot cramps which I never had pre-op. Been working out everyday and stretching; I'm a yoga teacher but now when I pull op leg inward toward my body my lower leg on inside and outside seems to start to cramp and sometimes it's a full blown charlie horse. My foot takes on a life of its own and the the cramp turns my foot into a very high arch look; it looks like my foot would look if I was in very high heels; which I never have worn my whole life!!
  Anyone else experienced this cramping post op?? thanks, Cubby

blondie

Re: Muscle cramping in lower leg and foot 6 mos. post op
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 11:32:48 PM »
Hi Cubby,
   Yes i have experienced your kind of cramping...on the outside of the operated leg from the knee to the ankle and i will  than spasm into the foot and twist my foot in all sorts of positions. I am a dancer and am two and 1/2 years out
of surgery with a successful right hip resurface...am 64 and it seems like this occurs after a workout and a lot of balancing on each leg doing jazz warm ups and dance in an hour and a half class.  I also had sciatic nerve problems down the same area of the leg and it  is gone....i just think that there will be a lot of tweeking with the muscles and
trying to get use to the  new hip in yoga as well as with my dance....pilates has helped me a lot work out some of the
kinks i did not know i had and muscles in my back i had no idea i was not even using!   Karen

Cubby52

Re: Muscle cramping in lower leg and foot 6 mos. post op
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 08:06:45 AM »