+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Get My Mind Right  (Read 10475 times)

hipnhop

Get My Mind Right
« on: March 29, 2011, 12:05:36 PM »
Has anyone experienced an emotional rollercoaster after HR? I am having a hard time trying to focus on anything. I am two weeks post op and I don't even want to do any business work, return calls, etc.
3/2011 and 2/2012 HR Dr. Craig Thomas

bdoughty

Re: Get My Mind Right
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2011, 12:16:53 PM »
I'm 4 wks post-op and have had much the same experience. I had best intentions of doing all this work after the 1st week or so, but wasn't able to focus on it much. Couldn't even do much pleasure reading. I've also been moody, lacked motivation. Yesterday was my 1st day back at work, which has helped a little bit but still hard to concentrate.

halfdone

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2011, 01:01:33 PM »
It is easier second time around!

I'm no expert, but you might find some of this at least vaguely familiar, though in a milder sense. 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posttraumatic_stress_disorder
The whole build up to surgery, and the mental and physical ordeal of surgery itself with all its attendant uncertainties and (sometimes) surprises is bound to be stressful for most of us.  My theory is that we are all at risk of a little mild PTSD-like feeling.

I think time, and celebration of being beyond the OA pain, are among the best healers of this one.

Best wishes on your continuing recoveries and rehabs.

newdog

• I am a Gross Hippy!
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 05:02:07 PM »
The worst thing I experienced was the first two days at home after the surgery. I had trouble concentrating on anything, even TV. At times especially at night I could feel anxiety or maybe even panic building up in me. I honestly did not know what was going on.